Heinrich Klaasen joins Seattle Orcas for Major League Cricket

Heinirch Klaasen to play in MLC
Heinirch Klaasen.

The Seattle Orcas have signed South African wicketkeeper-batsman Leus du Plooy: I’d love to play for South Africa and I’d love to play for Englandfor the inaugural edition of Major League Cricket.

Klaasen played for the Sunrisers Hyderabad in the Indian Premier League recently – and hit a century against the Royal Challengers Bangalore.

Former West Indies captain Brian Lara and former India captain Sachin Tendulkar publicly praised Klaasen for the century at the time.

Klaasen has joined Proteas team-mates Quinton de Kock and Wayne Parnell at the Orcas, who are one of six teams in MLC.

Who else is playing Major League Cricket (MLC)?

The tournament will feature several other international cricketers.

New Zealand batsman Devon Conway and Dwayne Bravo have joined the Texas Super Kings. The Super Kings also have Australia’s Daniel Sams, New Zealand’s Mitchell Santner and South African trio Gerald Coetzee, Faf du Plessis and David Miller.

The Los Angeles Knight Riders have recruited West Indies duo Sunil Narine and Andre Russell, New Zealand pair Lockie Ferguson and Martin Guptill, England’s Jason Roy and South Africa’s Rilee Rossouw. They also have Australian leg-spinner Adam Zampa.

The San Francisco Unicorns have former Australia captain Aaron Finch, former England seamer Liam Plunkett and former New Zealand all-rounder Corey Anderson. They have also signed South African fast bowler Lungi Ngidi and Australian all-rounder Marcus Stoinis.

MI New York have New Zealand fast bowler Trent Boult, Australian batsman Tim David, Afghanistan all-rounder Rashid Khan, West Indian all-rounder Kieron Pollard and South African fast bowler Kagiso Rabada.

Washington Freedom have secured Sri Lanka all-rounder Wanindu Hasaranga, Proteas all-rounder Marco Jansen, New Zealand fast bowler Adam Milne and Australian all-rounder Moises Henriques. They also have South African fast bowler Anrich Nortje.

When is MLC?

The first edition of MLC is scheduled for 13 to 30 July 2023. The tournament will comprise 19 matches, including the final, which will be played at the Grand Prairie Stadium in Texas. The Los Angeles Knight Riders and Texas Super Kings will contest the opening match.

Gareth Bale to Lionel Messi: They accept losing a bit more in MLS

Previous article

Ruben Neves exits Wolverhampton Wanderers for Saudi Pro League

Next article

You may also like


Comments are closed.

More in Cricket