Springboks announce squad for 2023 Rugby World Cup

Siya Kolisi Springboks
Siya Kolisi.

South Africa have announced a 33-man squad for this year’s Rugby World Cup in France.

Loose forward Siya Kolisi, who has not played Test rugby since November 2021 due to a knee injury and surgery, will captain the squad.

Flyhalf Handre Pollard and centre Lukhanyo Am are among the high-profile exclusions. Pollard and Am have been sidelined by injury.

Lock Lood de Jager and scrumhalf Herschel Jantjies have also been omitted.

What Springboks coach Jacques Nienaber said

“This was one of the hardest selections we have ever had to make,” said Springboks head coach Jacques Nienaber.

“Any of the 42-man training squad would do a great job, but injuries have played a part in the final selection and time unfortunately ran out for some real champions.

“However, we said from the outset that we wanted to name the best 33 players for the World Cup, and after giving 38 players a run in the last four Tests we are pleased with the make-up of the group and we know we have proper depth in each position.

“We’ve picked a squad with a bunch of the players who can also cover alternative positions, which we’ll need in a very tough World Cup.

“We were in a great position this year to have so many players knocking on the door for selection but unfortunately, we could only select 33. Injuries have had a hand in the final selection, but they are part of the game, and we are excited about the quality of the players who can step in and perform at World Cup level.”

Handre Pollard among standby players

Nienaber also confirmed nine standby players, including Am, de Jager, Pollard and Jantjies.

“The coaches and players have put in a lot work in the last few years, and we have the luxury of naming a squad that features a big group of players who know what it takes to win a World Cup and who will enter the tournament with vast international experience,” added Nienaber.

“The younger players have also showed in the last two seasons that they can match some of the top players in the world, so we believe we are better prepared as a team going into this tournament.”

Springboks’ Rugby World Cup record

South Africa are the reigning Rugby World Cup champions after beating England in 2019’s final. South Africa also won the tournament in 2007 and 1995.

The Springboks‘ 2023 Rugby World Cup campaign will start against Scotland on 10 September. Pool B fixtures will follow against Romania, Ireland and Tonga.

South Africa recently ended the 2023 Rugby Championship in second position after beating Australia and Argentina and losing to New Zealand, who won the title.

Springboks’ squad for 2023 Rugby World Cup


Props: Steven Kitshoff, Vincent Koch, Frans Malherbe, Ox Nche, Trevor Nyakane.

Hookers: Bongi Mbonambi, Malcolm Marx.

Locks: Eben Etzebeth, Jean Kleyn (Munster – 2 caps, 0 points), Marvin Orie, RG Snyman.

Loose forwards: Pieter-Steph du Toit, Siya Kolisi (captain, Kwagga Smith, Marco van Staden, Duane Vermeulen, Jasper Wiese.

Utility forwards: Deon Fourie, Franco Mostert.


Scrumhalves: Faf de Klerk, Jaden Hendrikse, Cobus Reinach, Grant Williams.

Flyhalves: Manie Libbok, Damian Willemse.

Centres: Damian de Allende, Andre Esterhuizen, Jesse Kriel.

Outside backs: Kurt-Lee Arendse, Cheslin Kolbe, Willie le Roux, Makazole Mapimpi, Canan Moodie.


Joseph Dweba, Jean-Luc du Preez, Thomas du Toit, Herschel Jantjies, Evan Roos, Gerhard Steenekamp, Lood de Jager, Lukhanyo Am and Handre Pollard.

Tottenham Hotspur sign Micky van de Ven from Wolfsburg

Previous article

West Ham United sign Edson Alvarez from Ajax

Next article

You may also like


Comments are closed.

More in News